23
Apr
09

Song of the week#6

Hi.

Last night while I was watching my favorite TV series ‘Cold Case’, this song came up in the last scene and I was reminded how much I used to love it.

 

Though it was released several years ago, it still has its charm.  I ‘m not usually an American Idol fan, but I really like this Kelly Clarkson‘s song for both the lyrics and the melody (I have to admit Kelly did a good job here).  Avril Lavigne (yes, that Avril) is credited for co-writing this song.

Break away is a phrasal verb, meaning to escape, to separate yourself from everything (= หนี  แยกตัวเองจากทุกอย่าง).  It can also mean ‘to change from your old ways of life’ (= เปลี่ยนวิถีชิวิตเดิม ๆ).  Sometimes ‘breakaway’ can be a noun as well.

 

So this song is about sacrificing (=การเสียสละ) something in your life in order to get what you want.  Like they say the road to success is not a bed of roses (=หนทางสู่ความสำเร็จไม่ได้ปูด้วยกลีบกุหลาบ).  On a contrary, it’s a long, painful and sometimes lonely journey.  But only you can tell if the reward is worth it.

 

 

 

Click below for the lyrics and vocabulary meanings!!!

 

 

Grew up in a small town    
And when the rain would fall down
I’d just stare out my window                                                  [stare: จ้องมอง]
Dreaming of what could be
And if I’d end up happy
I would pray                                                                                  [pray: สวดมนตร์อ้อนวอน]
Trying hard to reach out                                                          [reach out: เอื้อมมือ]
But when I’d try to speak out
Felt like no one could hear me
Wanted to belong here                                                              [belong: เป็นของ, รู้สึกเป็นส่วนหนึ่ง]
But something felt so wrong here
So I pray
I could breakaway
I’ll spread my wings and I’ll learn how to fly                    [spread my wings: กางออกปีกของฉัน]
I’ll do what it takes ’til I touch the sky
And I’ll make a wish, take a chance, make a change      [make a wish: อธิษฐาน / take a chance: คว้าโอกาส]
And breakaway
Out of the darkness and into the sun
But I won’t forget all the ones that I loved
I’ll take a risk, take a chance, make a change                   [take a risk: ยอมเสี่ยง]
And breakaway
Wanna feel the warm breeze                                                   [breeze: สายลม]
Sleep under a palm tree                                                            [a palm tree: ต้นปาล์ม]
Feel the rush of the ocean                                                        [rush: แรงคลื่น]
Get onboard a fast train                                                            [get onboard: ขึ้น(รถ)]
Travel on a jet plane, far away
And breakaway
I’ll spread my wings and I’ll learn how to fly
I’ll do what it takes ’til I touch the sky
And I’ll make a wish, take a chance, make a change
And breakaway
Out of the darkness and into the sun
I won’t forget all the ones that I loved
I gotta take a risk, take a chance, make a change
And breakaway
Buildings with a hundred floors
Swinging ’round revolving doors                                      [revolving doors: ประตูหมุน]
Maybe I don’t know where they’ll take me but
Gotta keep moving on, moving on                                   [moving on: เดินหน้าต่อไป]
Fly away, breakaway
I’ll spread my wings and I’ll learn how to fly
Though it’s not easy to tell you goodbye
I gotta take a risk, take a chance, make a change
And breakaway
Out of the darkness and into the sun
But I won’t forget the place I come from
I gotta take a risk, take a chance, make a change
And breakaway, breakaway, breakaway


3 Responses to “Song of the week#6”


  1. 1 snow
    April 24, 2009 at 3:47 am

    ชอบเพลงนี้มาตั้งนานแล้วค่ะ แต่เพิ่งได้ดู Music นี่แหละค่ะ

  2. 2 Pim
    April 24, 2009 at 10:53 am

    แค่ชื่อเพลง ก้โดนแล้วค่ะ ^^

  3. 3 "lazy student"
    April 25, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    i love this song =]


Leave a Reply

