01
Mar
09

Song of the Week #4

This week, I choose to present one of my favorite’s songs by a great indie rock band, “The Killers”. This single “Read My Mind” is taken from their previous album (they have a new album out now by the way). 

To read someone’s mind means to know what someone’s thinking

Hope you enjoy it.

There is a small Phrasal Verb exercise after you have finished listening, if you want to learn.

Ajarn In

 

 

On the corner of main street,
Just trying to keep it in line.
You say you wanna move on and
You say I’m falling behind.

Can you read my mind?
Can you read my mind?

I never really gave up on
Breaking out of this two-star town.
I got the green light.
I got a little fight.
I’m gonna turn this thing around.

Can you read my mind?
Can you read my mind?

The good old days, the honest man;
The restless heart, the Promised Land.
A subtle kiss that no one sees;
A broken wrist and a big trapeze.

Oh well I don’t mind, if you don’t mind
‘Cause I don’t shine if you don’t shine.
Before you go, can you read my mind?

It’s funny how you just break down,
Waiting on some sign.
I pull up to the front of driveway,
With magic soaking my spine.

Can you read my mind?
Can you read my mind?

The teenage queen, the loaded gun;
The drop dead dream, the Chosen One.
A southern drawl, a world unseen;
A city wall and a trampoline.

Oh well I don’t mind, if you don’t mind
‘Cause I don’t shine if you don’t shine.
Before you go,
Tell me what you find when you read my mind.

 Slipping in my faith until I fall
You never returned that call
Woman, open the door, don’t let it sting
I wanna breathe that fire again

She said
I don’t mind, if you don’t mind
‘Cause I don’t shine if you don’t shine

Put your back on me
Put your back on me
Put your back on me

The stars are blazing like rebel diamonds cut out of the sun.
Can you read my mind?

Exercise: The bold words in the song are phrasal verbs. Use a dictionary to find out their meanings and match them with these definitions.

  

____________________  = to escape from somewhere (e.g. prison) = หนี

____________________  = to stop a car = จอดรถ

____________________  = to lose control of your emotions and start crying = สติแตก

____________________  = to change the position or the direction to the opposite = หันกลับ

____________________  = to stop expecting someone or something to arrive or succeed = เลิกหวัง

____________________  = to forget about something in the past and start anew = เดินหน้า

____________________  = to form something in a particular shape by cutting = ตัดออกมา

____________________  = to lag in pace, or progress = ล้าหลัง, ตามไม่ทัน

____________________  = to look forward to something = เฝ้ารอ


8 Responses to “Song of the Week #4”


  1. 1 "lazy student"
    March 2, 2009 at 11:14 am

    แว่บบบบบบบบบบบบบบบบ

    แว่บมาทักทายค่ะ ^^
    สอบเสร้จวันที่6แน่ะ -3-
    บรื้ออออออออออออออออ
    TToTT

    อ.ชอบฟังเพลงที่หนูไม่รู้จัก😮

    ไปแล้วค่ะ บ้ายบายนะคะ
    จร้วบบบบบบบบบ ^3^

    • 2 intira
      March 3, 2009 at 12:13 am

      To lazy student

      ขอบคุณมาเข้ามาทักทายกัน สอบเสร็จแล้ว โล่งเลยใช่ไหมคะ

      อาจารย์อิน

      ปล. เพลงที่รู้จักกันอยู่แล้ว ก็คงไม่เอามาให้ฟังหรอกค่ะ ไม่แนว ;-P

  2. 3 "lazy student"
    March 4, 2009 at 3:46 am

    ToT

    ยังสอบไม่เสร็จเลยค่ะ

    เสร็จวันที่ 6 แน่ะ TT

    อีก 3 วัน

    FIGHTINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    555

  3. 4 good girl
    March 4, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    เง้ออออ

    หนูมีแบบเทคโฮมด้วยง่ะอาจารย์

    เกรดออกแล้วยังค่ะอาจารย์

  4. 5 AOM
    March 5, 2009 at 5:00 am

    อ.หนูก็ชอบเพลงนี้ .. 555

  5. 6 intira
    March 5, 2009 at 6:29 am

    To Good Girl

    แถวบ้านอาจารย์ก็มีฝรั่งนะ แบบใส่รถกระบะมาขายอ่ะ 555

    To Lazy Girl

    Fighting จ้า… หลังสอบวิชาอื่นแล้วจะรู้ว่า Eng3 ของเราน่ะง่ายสุดๆแล้วล่ะ

    To Aom

    อาจารย์ชอบเพราะ นักร้องนำหล่อดี (ตอนไม่มีหนวดนะ)

    อาจารย์อิน

  6. 7 AOM
    March 16, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    อ.ขา….

    หนูก็ว่างั้น เค้าไว้หนวดเพราะอยากมาดเข้มรึป่าว 555^^

    • 8 intira
      March 17, 2009 at 11:29 am

      ตอนนี้ เลยต้องกลับมาหน้าเด็กอีกครั้งเลย หลังยอดขาดตกในอัลบัมชุดก่อน 55


Leave a Reply

